The title

“We wanderers, ever seeking the lonelier way, begin no day where we have ended another day; and no sunrise finds us where sunset left us. Even while the earth sleeps we travel. We are the seeds of the tenacious plant, and it is in our ripeness and our fullness of heart that we are given to the wind and are scattered.”

So this quote comes from The Prophet by Khalil Gibran. It’s a section of text that I really appreciate, and which stays with me. It may be a somewhat romanticised image of modern travel, but I love his idea that through wandering we experience growth, and subsequently have a happy and full heart from our adventures. I’m definitely at my happiest when exploring new countries and cultures, and feel that it does undisputedly open and expand your mind if you allow it!

He also writes a lot about love, friendship, religion and other generally motivating things that make you go ‘hmm…’. Amazon has all of his texts for super cheap if you’re looking for something new to read. Or if you google image ‘Khalil Gibran quotes’, you’ll get an idea of the kinds of things he writes about. I just like his poetic way with words, and can usually find some relevance in what he says and apply it to a situation. This, for example (also from The Prophet) resonates with me at the moment:

“I love you when you bow in your mosque, kneel in your temple, pray in your church. For you and I are sons of one religion, and it is the spirit”.

I actually initially wanted to use part of a quote from Jack Kerouac, Paulo Coelho or Henry David Thoreau for my title, but they were already taken. I guess lots of people were similarly pretentious inspired and already beat me to it! But if you haven’t read anything by these three and are vaguely interested in travel/beat culture/self/philosophy, I’d definitely recommend checking them out. I might do a post on my favourite books at some point. My auntie tends to lend me a lot of books which I end up loving, and there’s also lots that I read whilst at uni that I try and palm off to anyone who’ll have them.

If anyone has any recommendations for me, I’d honestly love to hear them!

Charlotte x

Leave a Reply

